Sluit Filter
Dutch design news website

The New Material Award

What had been known as the DOEN | Materiaalprijs from now on will be called the New Material Award. Yesterday, Het Nieuwe Instituut presented their plans for the new-style award. 

By Editor / 19-12-2013

The New Material Award is a prize geared towards material innovation by designers and artists. 

The New Material Award follows the line of the DOEN | Materiaalprijs and is made up of two prized: a cash prize of 15.000 euros, and a Fellowship at Het Nieuwe Instituut. The New Material Award is a collaboration between Het Nieuwe Instituut (The New Institute), Stichting DOEN and the Materiaalfonds voor Beeldende Kunst en Vormgeving (Material Foundation for Visual Arts and Design). 

New Name, New Partner, Extra Prize

The New Material Award follows the DOEN | Materiaalprijs which was launched in 2009 by Stichting DOEN and the Material Foundation and aimed to challenge artists and designers to create the designs of the future using new and sustainable materials and techniques. After four successful editions, the designs of the DOEN | Materiaalprijs were presented in 2013 during Dutch Design Week. The prize now finds a sequel and a new partner; The New Institute, a new name; New Material Award, and an extra prize; de Fellowship at The New Institute. 

The New Institute, the Material Foundation and DOEN see an important role to play for artists and designers in creating a sustainable society. The New Material Award celebrates the innovative power of creation within various design and art disciplines such as sustainability, material development and material application. The call to action will open in February 2014 with the New Material Award exhibition taking place at The New Institute in November 2014. Here the nominees and winners will be presented. 

Two Prizes

The New Material Award 2014 comprises a cash prize of 15.000 euros, and a Fellowship Materials with a comparable size: partly practical – in the form of research support and a collaboration with The New Institute – partly in cash – in the form of 5.000 euro.

Previous winners of the DOEN | Materiaalprijs include Tjeerd Veenhoven (2011, Palm Leather), Studio Maarten Kolk & Guus Kusters (2011, Waterloop) and Marjan van Aubel (2012, the Energy Collection).


Main image: Exhibition Biodesign. Photo: Lizzy Kalisvaart

Other images: Tjeerd Veenhoven, Studio Maarten Kolk & Guus Kusters, Marjan van Aubel

Add to favorites
Share this:

Additional information

Points of sale





star1 star2 star3 star4 star5

( 0 Votes, average: 0 out of 5)

click to vote

Mail this item

Your favourites

You have no favourites