Sluit Filter
Dutch design news website

SMALL TALK: Awards galore and more...

The nominees of the Dutch Fashion Awards and Material Prize have just been announced, Dutch designers win Pentawards for packaging and Monique van Heist launches the second instalment of Hello Fashion. 

By Jeanne Tan /asdf 08-10-2009


Nominees Dutch Fashion Awards
The 2009 nominees of the Dutch Fashion Awards have just been announced. They are: Mada van Gaans, Iris van Herpen, Sjaak Hullekes, Bas Kosters, Jeroen van Tuyl. Both Van Gaans and Van Tuyl are three-time nominees. The award ceremony hosted by the Dutch Fashion Foundation will be held on 6 November in the Grote Kerk in The Hague.

16 new items for Hello Fashion
Meanwhile last year's Dutch Fashion Awards winner Monique van Heist has launched new items to her ever-growing Hello Fashion collection. The second instalment (23-38) features clothing and accessories including Samantha (jumpsuit with a low back), Fashionista, (fancy overall with separate ruffled half-skirt), Bodywarmer, Key Jewellery and Tool Bracelet and a recipe for meatballs.

Nominees Material Prize

A joint initiative of Materiaalfonds and Stichting DOEN, the DOEN | Materiaalprijs 2009 is an annual award to promote the development and use of sustainable, innovative new materials in design, fine art, fashion and architecture in The Netherlands. The top prize of € 15.000 is awarded to an (almost) finished product and an incentive prize is awarded to designs that are yet to be realised.

The nominees for 2009 are Marjan van Aubel (Porcelain cupboard), Aldo Bakker (Side Table), Fioen van Balgooi and Berber Soepboer (Fragment Textiles), Maria Blaisse (Moving Meshes), Celestine Briët (BeLeaf (birdhouses made of leaves), Didier Dorival (Bagazo), Bram Geenen (Gaudi Stool), Jennifer de Jonge (Yana), Chris Kabel (Seam Chair / Seam Bench), Heleen Klopper (Wool filler), Mieke Meijer / Ontwerplabel Vij5 (Kranthout) Nadine Sterk and Lonny van Ryswyck - Atelier NL (Drawn from Clay), Dinand Stufkens (KAZMOK re-use), Saara Valllineva ("Jupperi" My Grandparents' House), Jan Eric Visser (Aquadyne Sculpture), Architectenbureau Cepezed (Textile Second Skin Facade) and 2012 Architecten (Wikado).

Pentawards winners announced
The Pentawards is the first and only international annunal awards scheme completely devoted to packaging. The awards consist of five major groups - Beverages, Food, Body, Other markets and Luxury - with a total of 40 categories. For this third edition, gold awards went to Millford Brand-id for Venco DropTwist and Design Bridge for Heinz Tomato Soups. Silver was awarded to Millford Brand-id for Verstegen spice dispensers and Jozo salt, PROUDdesign for Rijp juices and Fruit Lab, VBAT for Jillz sparkling cider, ping-pong Design for Sprunk Jansen beauty products and UXUS for Buccella Wines. Bronze awards went to BooM packaging for Taste of Real beer and Millford Brand-id for Albert Heijn milk. The awards were presented during the Brussels Design Forum.

Main image: Monique van Heist, Hello Fashion 'Fashionista'
Image 1: Monique van Heist, Hello Fashion 'Samantha'
Image 2: Monique van Heist, Hello Fashion, 'Tunic with Pocket'
Photography: Daan Brand
Image 3: Design Bridge for Heinz Tomato Soups
Image 4: Millford Brand-id for Albert Heijn milk

Add to favorites



Share this:

Additional information

Points of sale



star1 star2 star3 star4 star5

( 3 Votes, average: 4 out of 5)

click to vote

Mail this item

Your favourites

You have no favourites