Sluit Filter
Dutch design news website

Dutch Design Awards winners 2010

Amongst the winners of this year's Dutch Design Awards were John Körmeling, Iris van Herpen and Willem Diepraam.

By Editor / 25-10-2010

This year saw the eight edition of the Dutch Design Awards which were presented during an award show in the newly opened Muziekgebouw in Eindhoven during the first day of Dutch Design Week.

The winners of the Dutch Design Awards included Iris van Herpen who won the Rado Young Designer Award, pipe bottles by Dwars Ontwerp was declared the winner of the Design & Sustainability Award (City of Eindhoven) and Hampi Leaf Plate was the winner of the Toon van Tuijl Design Prize. The winners of the BNO − Piet Zwart Life Time Achievement Award (Willem Diepraam) and the Best Client Award (RoyalVKB) had been announced in the lead-up to the awards night.

The big winner of The Golden Eye – the overall award for the best Dutch design in 2010 – was Happy Street by John Körmeling. The Dutch pavilion at the World Expo 2010 in Shanghai was named as the 'best of the best' by the international jury who added: "Happy Street is conceptually strong and represents Dutch Design. Not only is it architectural, it is graphical too and therefore a combination of media.This is daring exhibition design, and it’s proof that the Dutch do have a sense of humour.”

Other winners in the categories covering Communication, Product, and Spatial design included Piet Parra (best illustration), Scholten & Baijings (best product autonomous design) and Studio Roelof Mulder & bureau Ira Koers (best private interior). For a full list of winners please see the awards website.

The international jury was led by Frans Timmermans (chairman, The Netherlands), and comprised Annina Koivu (Italy), Cara McCarty (USA), Hans van der Markt (the Netherlands), Marcus Fairs (UK), James Woudhuysen (UK), Oscar Pena (UK), Paolo Navone (Italy), Rajesh Kejriwal (India), Ravi Naidoo (South- Africa), Ruedi Baur (France), Timo de Rijk (the Netherlands), Vincent van Baar (the Netherlands), Will Erens (Belgium) and Walter Van Beirendonck (Belgium).

For the duration of Dutch Design Week, (23-31 October, 2010) an exhibition of the finalists and winners can be seen in the Brainport Greenhouse on the Stadhuisplein in Eindhoven. Afterwards, the exhibition will travel to several international destinations.

Click on the images to enlarge

Main image: John Körmeling
Images from top to bottom: Piet Parra, Studio Roelof Mulder & burea Ira Koers, Scholten & Baijings, Iris van Herpen.

Add to favorites
Share this:

Additional information

Points of sale



star1 star2 star3 star4 star5

( 4 Votes, average: 4 out of 5)

click to vote

Mail this item

Your favourites

You have no favourites